Beginning Saturday, March 4, 2017 the Alamo in San Antonio will offer a free special exhibit, “Bowie: Man-Knife-Legend,” the first exhibit to appear in a newly-renovated special exhibition hall.
Also starting Saturday, for those wanting to experience an overview of the Alamo’s nearly 300-year history, including the 1836 siege and battle, there is a revamped guided walking tour, priced at $15 per person.
Entrance to the Alamo Church and grounds is free.
- September 4 – March 3 (Off-Peak Season Hours): 9 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
- March 4 – September 3 (Peak Season Hours): 9 a.m. – 8 p.m.
- The Alamo is closed Christmas Day (December 25)
The Alamo offers audio tours in English, Spanish, German, Japanese, and French. Reserve your audio tour here. Spanish Battlefield tours and Spanish private tours may be available with advance notice. Please call (210) 225-1391 ext. 145 to arrange.
The Alamo is owned by the people of the state of Texas. In 2011, the Texas Legislature transferred care of the Alamo to the General Land Office (GLO). The GLO works in partnership with Alamo Complex Management, a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, to preserve and operate the historic site.